Week 32 in the Utah Orem Mission

provo-city-center-mormon-temple1

This is the Provo City Center Temple.

This week has been a wonderful week at the Provo City Temple Open House. It has been amazing to me that even though lately it has been extremely busy and crowded (so much so that the parking lot was completely full of people; we can’t even describe how crowded and busy it was), the families who come through the temple feel the spirit! They come out crying and touched. It’s a privilege for me to be a part of this open house and to feel so close to the temple.

Serving at Provo City Temple

A temple open house visitor took this picture Hermana Kathleen and her companion Hermana Mena.

The video we show to all the visitors that describes the history and purpose of temples is absolutely amazing this year. (Because we watch it so much, we’re starting to memorize it. I’ve started to write it down, so when I get home, I can share it with you. It is absolutely powerful doctrine that Jesus Christ is the center of everything we do in the temple, that families can be together forever, and that ordinances are essential.)

I feel this tug of war inside of me — I want to stay on the mission, but I have this feeling that there is something more for me to do at home and at school. I can barely believe that I only have a little more than two weeks on my mission. It has gone by so fast, and I feel a great joy in the work.

Ryan Brady family and Hermana Kathleen at Temple Open House

Hermana Kathleen’s cousin and his family found Hermana Kathleen serving during their tour.

I’ve been keeping up with My Plan this week. I’ve fit it in during a couple breaks at the temple. Each time I begin working on My Plan, I say a prayer, and as I prayerfully seek His guidance in my Patriarchal blessing, I have felt the spirit guiding me and helping me know what He wants me to do, be, and become after my mission. My Plan is inspired. I’m grateful for all that I have learned and become, thanks to my mission and this training I have received as I’ve helped others come closer to Christ.

Yesterday we had a Sunday like no other. After our personal studies, we drove down to the chapel. And when we arrived, we found some people setting up a projector. We were super confused, as it was supposed to be our Fast and Testimony Meeting at 9:00 am. And then we found out that the other stake (our branch meets in a stake center of another stake to which we do not belong) was having their Stake Conference that morning. So after talking with the high councilor, our branch president announced that they would be having a partial meeting, only up to blessing and passing the sacrament, and then we would all go home (because there were not sufficient chairs in the building to have our meetings and for stake conference). We were all in shock, and all I could do was laugh inside. It is an experience that NONE of us will forget.

So with that extra time we had on hand, we decided to attend the stake conference (because it is one of the stakes that we cover) and receive inspiration. Throughout the rest of the day, we applied what we learned to help those we taught and visited.

Later that afternoon we went to another sacrament meeting in Alpine to visit a ward where one of our investigators was going to come. It is a Fast and Testimony meeting that I will never forget. And our investigator came with his family. Their whole family is incredible! They have such great faith in the Lord, and they just glow. At the end, Hermana Mena and I shared our testimonies in English and Spanish. I felt that I needed to share my testimony, but I didn’t know what to say, so I prayed and told Heavenly Father that I would put it in His hands. I felt the spirit guide me as I shared my testimony of Christ and of the Restored Gospel. And while I was up there, I felt this overwhelming reassurance that the Gospel is true and of what I have done and will continue to do after the mission.

Burnt waffle 2

Here is what a forgotten waffle looks like after a few days. Hermana Kathleen described it as “pretty gross.”

I have felt a change occurring in me throughout my mission. I look back at the pictures from the beginning of my mission, and I can see how the Lord has been molding me, healing me, refining me, and helping me develop more of His Sacred Character.

It’s been a beautiful experience witnessing the change occurring here in American Fork and the spiritual growth of the members and of those investigating the church. The Lord is softening hearts and preparing His children to receive the gospel.

Share your thoughts

