Week 18 in the Utah Orem Mission

I feel like I've entered the Celestial Kingdom with these beautiful kitties!

I feel like I’ve entered the Celestial Kingdom with these beautiful kitties!

Yes, I do know what “My Plan” is for missionaries. They used our mission as one of the “guinea pig” missions for the program. (During my first transfers in the mission, I watched Hermana Martinez and Hermana Lopez go through the process.) I’ll receive a special “Sprint” certificate this next transfer, and then I’ll probably do the “My Plan” during my last transfer. It’s interesting to me how worried I was about my career choices and schooling in the beginning of my mission, but know I’m not worried about it. I’m focusing on the Lord and serving His children, and I know that when that time comes everything will work out as it should. Trusting in the Lord is a principle of which I am learning here on the mission.

What we have heard is that the Orem and Provo Missions will be alternating weeks serving at the Provo City Center Temple — Provo working one week and Orem working the other. We haven’t heard many details yet, but they’ll probably train us for the open house within the next month or so.

I love the Deseret Industries Thrift Store! I found this great winter wool coat (actually new) for only $7.00.

I love the Deseret Industries Thrift Store! I found this great winter wool coat (actually new) for only $7.00.

Hermana Mena’s family is from El Salvador, but she was raised in North Carolina. She is super sweet, kind, caring, a good listener, and dedicated to the work (despite all the stress she feels). She and her family are converts, and she is on her second time reading through the Book of Mormon, yet she has a testimony that is so strong — I look up to her with that. Even though she hasn’t had years of scripture study, she keeps growing in her understanding of the gospel and teaches with the spirit. When we teach together, we say the things the other has in her mind. (That happened with me, Hermana Flores, and Hermana Bonilla as well.) The spirit works wonders.

This week we have seen many little miracles. One thing I have learned is that solid morning personal study and companionship study give me the strength to keep going forth in this work. It is exhausting but rejuvenating as well!

Friday afternoon we had interviews with President Killpack. It amazes me how both President McCune and President Killpack understand what is going on in my mind and heart, and their counsel is exactly what I need in the moment. One thing President Killpack did is that he took the word “exactly” out of my vocabulary. Hold me is that Hermana Billings does not say that anymore. Hermana Billings strives to be obedient and do her best.

We decided to take our dinner and eat it in front of the Mount Timpanogos Temple! What a view!

We decided to take our dinner and eat it in front of the Mount Timpanogos Temple! What a view!

Even though the temple is within our area’s boundaries, the same rules apply to us. We can go to the temple every quarter, and we can also go if our recent converts or members-returning-into-activity go for the first time to do baptisms for the dead, receive their endowment, or be sealed. 🙂

Last year for Halloween we watched a Disney movie, but this year they upgraded the activity and we had the wonderful opportunity to go to the temple! I entered the temple with a heavy heart filled with worries and questions, and I left with peace and security. Throughout the session I was reminded of who I am — who I AM, who I was before I was born, and who I can become. As I entered the Celestial Room, I was met by hugs and smiles. And in the peace of the house of the Lord, I prayed and was reminded of my purpose here on a mission — to help others come here as well.

Para todos mis queridos que hablan español, quiero decirles que yo sé que el Señor tiene un plan maravilloso para ustedes y sus familias. No dejen de llamar Su nombre en oración. Él les escucha. Esta semana yo tenía mucho estrés y tensión adentro de mí, pero al deleitarme en las escrituras, orar en el templo, meditar mi bendición patriarcal, pensar en la Expiación de Jesucristo durante la Santa Cena, y al servir a otras personas y olvidarme de mis estrés, encontré paz. Es la invitación del Señor a cada uno de sus hijos: Ven a Mí, y en mi alcanzarás paz. (Véase Mateo 11:28-30; 3 Nefi 11:14-15)

We decided to share in the excitement of Elmo while visiting the family with a little girl who just loves him.

We decided to share in the excitement of Elmo while visiting the family with a little girl who just loves him.

TRANSLATED: To all who speak Spanish, I say that I know that the Lord has a wonderful plan for you and your families. Do not forget to call on His name in prayer. He listens. This week I had a lot of stress and tension inside of me, but by delighting in the scriptures, praying in the temple, meditating on my patriarchal blessing, thinking of the Atonement of Jesus Christ during the sacrament, and serving others and forgetting my stress, I found peace. It is the Lord’s invitation to each of His children come to Him, and we will achieve peace.

Share your thoughts

