Week 17 in the Utah Orem Mission

Here is my new companion, Hermana Mena.

Here is my new companion, Hermana Mena.

I did have the chance to say goodbye to many of the families we served in Orem [before my transfer]. It was so hard to have to tell them that I would be leaving. I will miss them so much, but I know the Lord will take care of them, and they have great missionaries there who will keep visiting, teaching, and supporting them. I promised them I would come back and visit them, and I fully intend on keeping that promise. They are a part of my life, a part of my heart, and throughout the rest of my life I will continue to stay in contact with them and continue to support them in their efforts to come unto Christ and stay firm in His gospel.

This is the Garcia Family from Aspen 7 in Orem! I love them so much! They are on the path towards the temple!

This is the Garcia Family from Aspen 7 in Orem! I love them so much! They are on the path towards the temple!

Wednesday morning I finished packing up. (I even organized the things I would need for the next couple days all in my little carry on suitcase so I wouldn’t be overwhelmed trying to find everything I would need in the different bags. Thanks, Mom, for teaching me about being organized. It really helped me these last few days with the transition.) As we sat there waiting for the meeting to begin, I got to talk with Hermana Bonilla. She is doing better since the car accident. She is still in pain, but she keeps going forward. I look up to her in that respects. She is always willing to keep going despite the pain. Despite the challenges we had together, we got through them, and now we’re like sisters, and I love her to pieces. I also got to sit beside Hermana McDermaid, mi Hermanita del CCM [Mexico City Missionary Training Center]. And I got to spend some moments with Hermana Flores [one of my former companions in Provo]. She is so much fun, always smiling and so selfless. Hermana Rucker just went home — it was hard to see her go — even though I never served with her or in her same zone, I look up to her.

I appreciate all the help that Hermano and Hermana Medrano, ward missionaries from Peru, provided us while I was in Orem.

I appreciate all the help that Hermano and Hermana Medrano, ward missionaries from Peru, provided us while I was in Orem.

Then time came for the meeting to begin. Hermana Bonilla is now with Hermana Beggs in Eagle Mountain, Hermana Reposo joined Hermana Flores in Lehi, Hermana McDermaid went with Hermana Rackley to Orem Lakeridge, and Hermana Kava went with Hermana Peterson to Orem Aspen. And now I am serving with Hermana Mena in the American Fork Spanish Branch.

When I found out that I would be coming to American Fork with Hermana Mena, the expression on my face probably looked a lot like Genie’s in the Disney movie Aladdin — with my mouth as huge as his was. When I found out that I would be transferred, I had been praying that the Lord would help me feel that where I was going was where I needed to be. And what shocked me was that for this last transfer I had a feeling I would be leaving Aspen, and I had this feeling that I wanted to serve in American Fork with Hermana Mena. Out of all the areas, I was thinking of that, and I didn’t know why it always kept coming to my mind. (I think I even prayed one night telling Heavenly Father that if that would happen, I’d be okay with it.) It shocked me when it came true! (It was like that feeling I had of wanting to be companions with Hermana Bonilla and not knowing why. It was similar to that.) And it really amazed me when Hermana Mena said she had been praying that she could be companions with me here in American Fork.

Hermana Beggs (Hermana Bonilla with her Eagle Mountain), Hermana Kava (with Hermana Peterson back to Orem Aspen 7), Sister Vave, Sister Diuguid, and me.

Hermana Beggs (Hermana Bonilla with her Eagle Mountain), Hermana Kava (with Hermana Peterson back to Orem Aspen 7), Sister Vave, Sister Diuguid, and me.

This is a huge change for me. For my entire mission up to this point I have been in areas of just 1-2 stakes, and now we cover 15 stakes for a branch! And I am the designated driver! For the first time in over fourteen months, I am now driving. Yeeks! If you could pray for me, it would mean a lot to me. Driving seems a little daunting to me. Now throughout my mission I have been in Provo–walking, Orem–biking, and now American Fork–driving!

What really touched me is how close I feel with my sisters from the CCM [Mexico City Missionary Training Center] in this area of American Fork. When we first arrived in the mission, Hermana Thomas served in American Fork for 4 transfers. When she was transferred to Heber, Hermana McDermaid came and served there for 5 transfers. And now I am here. I feel so honored to follow in their footsteps and continue the amazing work that they have done here. And I could never forget la asombrosa Hermana Fagen! She is such an amazing missionary. Even though she has had her hard times, she continues moving forward and strong, accepting the Lord’s will and serving the Lord in whatever assignment. Sisters in Christ!

After weeks of discouragement (and lack of confidence in myself), I feel like this is a chance for me to “start over” in a sense and focus on doing my best, serving Hermana Mena, helping to build up this branch, talk with every one, and apply more fully the principles in Preach My Gospel. During our first few days together, Hermana Mena shared her thoughts and concerns and trials with me, and we cried together. I love being here with her. She is teaching me so much. We are striving to help these families build their faith in Christ. I’ve felt the spirit strongly with her during lessons (like I did with Hermana Bonilla), and we are looking forward to see more miracles here!

Here is my awesome new companion -- Hermana Mena and me. She was the MTC companion of Hermana Bonilla!

Here is my awesome new companion — Hermana Mena and me. She was the MTC companion of Hermana Bonilla!

We have been talking with everyone and been seeing miracles together. I look forward to serving these families in American Fork and coming to love them as much as I love the families in Provo and Orem.

Share your thoughts

