Week 14 in the Utah Orem Mission

Here is President and Sister Killpack with the missionaries (including me) who were attending the Sunday Morning Session of General Conference.

Here is President and Sister Killpack with the missionaries (including me) who were attending the Sunday Morning Session of General Conference.

I am so grateful for General Conference and for the inspired talks and words of God’s prophet, apostles, and other leaders. …

My wonderful companion, Hermana Segle, and I wait for the beginning of the conference session.

My wonderful friend, Hermana Segle, and I wait for the beginning of the conference session.

We didn’t have a place to watch the Saturday morning session of General Conference, so we prayed and headed out on our bikes trusting the Lord that He would provide a way. We felt impressed to try one family’s home, and they were home and invited us in. And in the first talk given in the morning session of General Conference, Heavenly Father answered my prayer of how to fight stress. I felt like President Uchtdorf was speaking right to me — I need to simplify. I don’t need to make this path of discipleship more complicated than it needs to be.

Here I am being so excited to hear the words of apostles and prophets.

Here I am being so excited to hear the words of apostles and prophets.

Sunday morning I had the privilege to travel to Salt Lake City and watch the Music and the Spoken Word with the Tabernacle Choir and the Sunday Morning session of General Conference. It was amazing to hear the Prophet speak in person and feel His presence. President Nelson’s talk about the influence of covenant-keeping women also spoke to me. As we sat in the audience, we saw President Monson struggling and grabbing hold of the pulpit. Despite his struggle, his voice stayed firm and strong. It was amazing to me to witness the Lord’s hand supporting and sustaining His mouthpiece upon the earth, as King Benjamin describes in Mosiah 2 (there are so many similarities between Mosiah 2 and General Conference).

In our companionship study this morning we shared our goals with each other. It led to a heart-to-heart conversation between Hermana Peterson and me. She shared how she has been feeling lately and how she wants to improve, and this led to me talk about my struggles and discouragement I have felt lately. And you know what she told me? I need to love my faults and weaknesses. They will be with me for the rest of my life. The Lord give me weaknesses because He loves me. And those weaknesses make me beautiful. Throughout my life and my mission, I have

Me, Hermana Segle, Hermana Sánchez, Hermana Mena, Hermana McDermaid, Sister Killpack, and President Killpack

Me, Hermana Segle, Hermana Sánchez, Hermana Mena, Hermana McDermaid, Sister Killpack, and President Killpack

learned and grown through striving to overcome them. I am the person I am with my loving, kind character thanks to my weaknesses. I need to admit them — that those are the weaknesses that I have, and other people have their own weaknesses. Knowing that makes us all beautiful.

Just like it says in 2 Nephi 2 — there needs to be opposition in all things, and those weaknesses that I have make how far I’ve come even more beautiful. And if the Lord had just sent us to earth without weaknesses, there would be no growth or purpose in being here on earth.  I had never thought of my weaknesses in that way before. I had never viewed them as a blessing in that regards. Every companion I have had in my mission has helped me develop and heal in different ways. I feel that the Lord is working within me, helping me forgive myself for my imperfections so He can fill me with more love. I still have a long way to go, but I know that the Lord is aware of me and blesses my life as I dedicate my life to the Lord and His work — the service of one of His children.

This week we’ve seen more miracles. The Lord truly is working marvelous things in the lives of His children, and I am grateful to be a part of it.

Sister Killpack poses with us sisters before we go inside to hear Conference.

Sister Killpack poses with us sisters before we go inside to hear Conference.

Share your thoughts

