Week 39 in the Utah Provo Mission [last week in this mission–next week in the Utah Orem Mission]

The missionaries in the new Utah Orem Mission in front of the Mount Timpanogos Temple.

The missionaries in the new Utah Orem Mission in front of the Mount Timpanogos Temple.

I am now officially part of the Orem Utah Mission! We will get to meet our new mission president and his wife, President and Sister Killpack, tomorrow afternoon.

Here’s my new mailing address:

I'm on the third row, second from the left in the picture of the new Utah Orem Mission.

I’m on the third row, second from the left in the picture of the new Utah Orem Mission.

Utah Orem Mission

612 West 100 South

Lindon, UT 84042

Yes, the sister showed us how to make the potato meal (that I shared in a picture with you last week). You make a bowl with the potatoes, add the filling (meat, raisins, onions, etc.), and then top it again with more potato. Then you roll it in egg whites, then flour, and then you fry it. It was probably super unhealthy, but it tasted great. 🙂

Peruvian potato dish

Peruvian potato dish

For 4th of July (just like what happened last year for Halloween), we will be watching a movie — and this time it will be How to Train a Dragon 2! I’m sure that will make Lizzie happy. 🙂

A couple days ago as I was studying the scriptures, I pondered a statement by President Uchtdorf in one of his general conference talks. I thought about how the Lord works — many times through us. We are His hands. I’m a representative of the Lord. How should I work? Like He does. So I should work through the members and leaders like He does. It was an ah-ha moment for me.

This last Tuesday, we had a specialized training meeting with President and Sister McCune. The night before and the morning of, I felt a little discouraged and I was praying to the Lord, pleading for guidance and peace. And throughout the morning of training, I received the answers I was seeking. Everything they said seemed to be just for me. I am so grateful for the Lord speaking to my heart through the spirit and through the mouths of his servants to help one of his children to feel pace and security. Sister McCune also shared a scripture that is giving me a lot of strength: 2 Nephi 31:19-20. I haven’t come thus far save it were by the word of Christ with unshaken faith in him, relying wholly upon the merits of him who is mighty to save. Faith, humility, trust in the Lord — that is how I have gotten 10 months into my mission, and now I must press forward with a steadfastness in Christ, having a perfect brightness of hope, and a love of God and of all men. Wherefore, if I shall press forward, feasting upon the word of Christ, and endure to the end, behold, thus saith the Father: I can help others have eternal life. Right now I am focusing on what Faith means and making my personal study time in the morning sacred. I need to keep nourishing my testimony so I can help others nourish theirs. The strength I received every morning through personal and companionship study helps me keep going forward.

Here we are on our bikes--visiting some investigators.

Here we are on our bikes–visiting some investigators.

This last week we have seen SO many miracles. Thursday morning Juana called us and asked us to come over. She has grown so much. She is going through some hard times right now, but she continues to pray and is starting to feast upon the scriptures. We shared the Gospel of Jesus Christ  and read Moroni 7:33, Juan 3:5, and another, and we drew the Gospel of Jesus Christ on a sheet of paper, with her in the bottom corner and the temple in the opposite, with the path of faith, repentance (coming back to the path), the door of baptism with the key of the priesthood, the gift of the Holy Ghost, and endure to the end. We invited her to be baptized, and she happily accepted.

Then Saturday night Juana texted us again and said we could come over if we’d like. We went over and  we talked about the Gospel of Jesus Christ with Juana and Valentin and her son, Kevin. We drew a picture illustration of the path, gate, temple, etc. We all stood up and did the head, shoulders, knees, and toes to learn the steps of repentance. We shared Juan 3:5, and Valentin shared his excitement — he said he loves it when we shared scriptures during the lessons — we’re sharing the truth: God’s word. Afterwards, we read Mosiah 18:7-11, and asked Kevin and Juana if they wanted to be witnesses of Christ, with which they both said yes. We then re-read parts of verse 10. We then read verses 12-13 from the same chapter with Valentin, and he read his name in place of Alma and Juana in place of Helam. Valentin was very touched, and said he wanted to prepare himself to baptize Juana and Kevin. The spirit guided us and we all felt peace, excitement, and happiness.

It means a lot to us that they trust us so much to call us when they need help and are excited when we come. They have progressed so much. There is a light developing in them that is beautiful!

Sunday morning during Sacrament Meeting, I felt SO HAPPY. JOYFUL. EXCITED TO SERVE. I felt needed, wanted, and appreciated. And as I reflect back on that experience, I realize that it was because I was entirely focused on others — I WAS MORE FOCUSED ON SERVING AND HELPING OTHERS FEEL WANTED, NOTICED, AND LOVED, and in return, I felt happiness. And SO many people came to church! It was a miracle, and we almost jumped for joy!

We are helping one of the new converts put dirt in his pickup truck.

We are helping one of the new converts put dirt in his pickup truck.

Share your thoughts

