Week 35 in the Utah Provo Mission

This ward sister loves the Gospel, and we love her.

This ward sister loves the Gospel, and we love her.

This week we have seen so many miracles. Tuesday afternoon we felt strongly impressed to go and visit a certain sister, and when we arrived we couldn’t find her. But, while there, the daughter introduced us to her brother, Angel. He is visiting from Mexico and told us that he has talked with missionaries from different religions before, but no one could answer his questions about where we came from and where we are going after this life. He accepted to listen to our message.

This is the brother who needed to have his spiritual questions answered. He will learn more when he returns home to Mexico.

This is the brother who needed to have his spiritual questions answered. He will learn more when he returns home to Mexico.

The spirit was SO strong as we taught the Plan of Salvation, listened to his comments, and answered his questions. In the end, we opened the Book of Mormon and testified as representatives of Jesus Christ of the truthfulness of the Book of Mormon, and by applying Prophet Moroni’s promise, he would come to know the truth of what we said. He thanked us and wholeheartedly agreed to read the Book of Mormon. Angel thanked us for taking the time to talk, listen, and answer his questions. He asked us to sign his Book of Mormon and date it so he could remember this day. He gave us his address so the missionaries in Mexico can come to his home and share the gospel with him. (We also gave him the 6 pamphlets, and when we went to visit his family a couple days later, he was already beginning Mosiah in the Book of Mormon and was having many spiritual experiences with the Book of Mormon. That weekend he came to the baptism of Lenira just glowing!)

Wednesday morning we felt impressed to go knock on the door of that address we spent hours trying to find last week, and we finally met her! Mirta Lugo. She told us that yes, she wants to learn more about the Church and participate in the activities and get to know the members, and then she would love to take the lessons. It was a miracle to us. We had been in the area, and we were about to go home for lunch when I had a thought — go knock on that door before you go. I had a feeling that if we left without knocking on the door I would regret it later, so we went and we found her!

We love teaching the message of the Restoration with all different types of people — members, investigators, less actives, recent converts, etc. it applies to everyone in all areas of life.

Wednesday night we were returning from the chapel tour and heading to go contact some referrals when we realized that we had no copies of the Book of Mormon or pamphlets in Spanish. So we went home to pick them up. As we arrived in the driveway of our home, we noticed a sister sitting out front across the street. Hermana Bonilla and I look at each other and we both felt — let’s go talk with her. She told us yes, she would love to hear our message. We sat out front with her and shared the message of the Restoration. Her heart was touched. She accepted the invitation to be baptized when she knew that his was the path for her to have an eternal family. She was also very excited to read about her ancestors in America who believed, followed, and testified of Jesus Christ.

Hermana Bonilla and I share another selfie.

Hermana Bonilla and I share another selfie.

Thursday night after seeing miracles of contacting different references, we were heading home when we noticed a young man sitting on his truck talking on the phone. We felt impressed to go talk to him. He has been working with the Young Single Adult missionaries before and has been struggling with giving up smoking. I felt impressed to ask him what page he was in the Book of Mormon, and as it turns out, he actually just finished the Isaiah chapters in 2 Nephi. I was so impressed and felt so proud of him. I could see that goodness in him. I asked him if he believed in Jesus Christ and the Atonement. He said yes. We testified of the power of the Atonement to heal, not only physically but spiritually as well. Christ knows what he is going through and can help him overcome it. God worked miracles in the past, and He continues to work miracles today.

Friday morning as we started our companionship study, Hermana Bonilla told me that she was feeling discouraged and stressed and couldn’t feel the spirit. We stopped what we were doing and talked about what was going on and how she was feeling. As we talked, memories came back to me of that transfer in Slate Canyon where I was struggling with discouragement and stress. And then, the spirit took control. I told her that Satan was trying to discourage her because he knows the good she can do here in this area, the hearts she can touch and the lives she can change, and he doesn’t want that to happen. The Lord called her here, and she has a purpose here. I thank the Lord every night for blessing me with a companion like her. I need her, the Lord needs her, and the people here need her.

At the end of our conversation, she thanked me for taking the time to help her. In her first month here she had been feeling the same feelings and no one was able to help her, but my counsel (which really was the spirit, not me) was exactly what she needed and she felt motivated again and happy. She asked if I would like to join her in pray, and asked if I would like to say it. The prayer was beautiful. I don’t think I’ve ever said one like it before, and I know it was the Lord guiding me to say the things she needed to hear. I am grateful for the experiences I have had on my mission so far. I have grown, come to trust more in the Lord, and have been changed for the better since I have been here. Provo and Orem are now the Waters of Mormon for me (Mosiah 18:30). I am humbled for this time — these 18 months– to serve as a representative of Christ, to physically wear his name on my chest to help me write his name in my heart (Alma 5).

Saturday morning Hermana Bonilla and I were reading Preach My Gospel chapter 6, and I feel so proud of Hermana Bonilla! She read so well in English. We are both experiencing the gift of tongues on our mission. That morning we went to another baptism, and that afternoon we helped one of the families we are helping to prepare to be sealed in the temple prepare Mole for a wedding later that afternoon.

And I wish I had more time to write more details about Saturday and Sunday and this morning, as we’ve seen even more miracles this weekend. But I’ll just sum it up by saying that we can feel the spirit guiding us here and working miracles in the lives of the people we are serving. Hearts are being changed, spiritual lights are turning on, etc. The Lord is real. He lives, and He is actively working in this work — His work.

Don’t be ashamed of sharing your testimony — it can change the world.

¡Cristo vive!

Hermana Billings

Share your thoughts

