Week 19 in the Provo Utah Mission

My new companion, Hermana Flores, and me!

My new companion, Hermana Flores, and me!

February 9, 2015

Thanks for the questions to answer each week. It is really helping me reflect back on the past week and pull my thoughts together to send you. Here I go!

  1. What has been your biggest challenge this week?

One of my biggest challenges this week was when I watched Hermana Lopez leave with the other missionaries going home. It kills me when I have to leave those I come to love so much. She helped me break out of my shell and realize the kind of missionary I can be. But I am so grateful for my calling as a follow-up trainer. Having this calling has helped me stay calm (I still cried but I was okay during the transfer meeting) and focused. Hermana Flores (my new companion) has served for 1 1/2 months in the field, and I will now go through the last part of her training with her. I love my calling. And ever since I’ve become a trainer, I felt a change in me. I feel a greater desire to serve, to love, to care, to forget myself and get to work. I want to talk to people and approach them in the streets.

My other challenge has been to write in my journal! Ever since I became a trainer, I can hardly find time to do it, but I want to make that one of my priorities.

  1. What has been your biggest concern?

My biggest concern this week was being good enough. But through that concern, I learned something. I noticed how merciful the Lord is. I am such an unprofitable servant. I know I can do better, but I keep falling. However, He pours out blessings that I don’t feel worthy of. This helps me realize the power of Grace. He loves us even when we shut the door on Him. He blesses us even when we don’t deserve it.

  1. What has been your biggest success?

This week, one of my biggest successes is talking with everyone! It’s been crazy and funny at times (people running away, peeking through the blinds, opening the door an inch and then closing it), but we have seen so many miracles this week.

  1. Who has been your favorite person this week? Why?

    Hermana Flores

    Hermana Flores

My favorite person this week is Hermana Flores! (Btw, she is pretty picky about pictures of her, so I’ll try my best to get a picture with her every week and I’ll send the ones she approves.)

Hermana Flores is 23 years old, wants to be a preschool or high school teacher, loves doughnuts, was born in Mexico, and is learning English. So I speak in Spanish to her and she speaks English to me. It’s funny if you think of it, but we understand each other, so it works out.

I love Hermana Flores so much; we could be twins as we are so alike (she has those perfectionist tendencies, she wants to be obedient and loves the people, she loved the Young Women’s program  — whoot whoot for our medallions! — and drum roll……… SHE LOVES CATS! My first companion to actually like cats like I do!) and yet we are so different at the same time (she likes sugary stuff and I like healthy, she’s shy and quiet and Hermana Lopez helped me break out of my shell and be very bold and not afraid of knocking doors or talking with people — I actually look forward to it and am not ashamed of speaking and sharing my testimony). But even with all this, we complement each other and I am so grateful for this time to serve with her, learn from her, and work together to help the children of God who live here in our area to come closer to their Savior Jesus Christ and have more confidence and peace in this life and in the life to come.

  1. What has been your most significant tender mercy?

The most significant tender mercy that I can think of this week has been the Spirit. I am so imperfect. I do not speak Spanish perfectly or understand everything in the scriptures, but the Lord does, and as I remain humble and rely on Him for what to say and what to do, the Spanish comes, stories and scriptures come into my minds, and the words are placed in my mouth as to what they need to hear. The other day we were walking down the street when we passed a garage door with two guys sitting there. We went up and talked with them, and in the end we shared the first vision and invited him to read the Book of Mormon so he could know God was there. It surprised me how bold and caring I was. If we aren’t afraid to speak and trust in the Lord, you can touch the hearts of people and be an angel in their lives.

  1. What are you looking forward to this coming week?

This coming week, I am looking forward to serving with Hermana Flores and help her get to know the families with who we are teaching, get the reins, and fortify Zion. 🙂

Hermana Flores, Sister Wright (who is our landlady and my cousin on both sides of my dad's family), and me

Hermana Flores, Sister Wright (who is our landlady and my cousin on both sides of my dad’s family), and me

  1. Do you have a goal set for this coming week? Tell me about it. 

This week one of my goals is to seek more guidance from the Holy Ghost in prayer and make my prayers more meaningful. At times I find I get into a routine with my prayers, and I want to have more meaning in the words I speak and not rush. The Lord knows what is going on, but He wants to hear about everything, and He can’t help me if I lock myself from Him.

I’m also going to work on teaching simply and testifying quickly of Jesus Christ and the Restoration of His Church. 🙂

  1. Which scripture has had the biggest impact on you this week?

The scripture that really touched my heart this week is D&C 100:1-6. It calmed my heart and helped me focus on what was ahead of me to do.

Share your thoughts

