Week 4 in the Utah Provo Mission

Coming home from a training meeting.

Coming home from a training meeting.

October 27, 2014

Hey Mommy, sorry for not writing you earlier.

Sister Martinez is so much fun.

Sister Martinez is so much fun.

We have been shopping all day (with a little break in the middle for lunch). To answer your questions, last week I bought some winter boots, and today we went to almost six different stores looking for appropriate clothing for sister missionaries. I bought some cardigans, long sleeve under shirts, long sleeve blouses, a couple jackets, gloves, hat, and fuzzy socks (to wear with my boots and because my feet get cold at night, and I can’t sleep if they are cold). I cashed the check from BYU-Idaho at one of the Zion’s banks, and they were so sweet about it and cashed it. When I asked if they needed an ID, they said no, because they could see it right on my shirt (my name tag).

Since I’ve been on my mission, I’ve been learning about the power of simplicity. The songs in the Primary songbook are powerful because they are simple and full of doctrine. Some days while we’re walking to a next appointment, a primary song will come into my head. I love them. And now that I am here and look back at the years before, I’m amazed at the power that is in Primary and YWs in helping to prepare and strengthen the testimonies of these precious children of God.

I drew this diagram of the Plan of Salvation for an investigator.

I drew this diagram of the Plan of Salvation for an investigator.

We’ve had a good week. I’ve seen a lot of miracles. I had a hard time on Saturday. It was the first day in ten weeks that I got a bout of homesickness. It was a tough day. But as I continued throughout the day and pondered how I was feeling, I realized that it is okay to miss you — my family and friends. Yes, I’m away right now, but that can strengthen my motivation to help others not be separated from their family forever. It gives me a little taste of what God feels being away from us and how much He longs for us to come unto Him and allow Him to bless us. In this work, I can help other families be together forever through the gospel of Jesus Christ.

Through this process, I also learned more about my purpose as a missionary and reason I’m out here. That reason got tested, and I felt thoughts about not being good enough or able to do this work, but then I realized that β€œyes,” I can’t do this work on my own. I can’t rely on my own efforts – I must rely on the Lord in everything I do. He is the way I can learn Spanish. I know He is real. As I pray for the gift of tongues and the interpretation of tongues, study Spanish, listen intently during lessons, striving to help them come unto Christ, and open my mouth, the Lord helps me understand the things the people say, speaks to my heart what to say, and the Spirit bearing witness to their heart of the truth of those words. It’s amazing.

I had my first exchange! And the next day we found these letters with starbursts on our door. I love how they portrayed us through American girl dolls. I think they did a good job - what do you think? :)

I had my first exchange! And the next day we found these letters with starbursts on our door. I love how they portrayed us through American girl dolls. I think they did a good job – what do you think? πŸ™‚

E-mail to Elizabeth

I thank the Lord every day that I have you as my sister. When I was younger, I didn’t appreciate you as much as I should, so I’m sorry. But thanks for always putting up with me and being so quick to forgive – you were an example to me of that. Tu es una Hermosa hija de Dios. Always remember that — I love you and wish you the best with your classes and activities this week. Try to serve someone every day, whether it’s through a smile, wave, sincere compliment, a call, a letter, cookies, a kind gesture, or whatever. The Lord helps His children many times through other people, and He has placed people in your path so you can help them come unto Christ. Every person we come in contact with is part of that portion of His children He has trusted us to serve. You can have a huge impact on others, more than you think.

IMG_1560

Share your thoughts

