Week 2 in the Utah Provo Mission

Hermana Kathleen takes her first selfie with her iPad.

Hermana Kathleen takes her first selfie with her new iPad. Missionaries are receiving iPads in order to be more efficient in their personal and companion studying, as well as sharing LDS.org articles and videos with investigators.

I’m glad you received my letter. I sent another one a few days ago. Haha, I’m glad I could give Daddy some practice with his Spanish [as he translates many of my sentences in my letters in Espanol]. I go back and forth into Spanish all the time — even when I’m trying to write something in English, words start coming out in Espanol. That has happened SO many times in my journal…

Jesus Christ is the reason and way that we can have hope during these troubling times (Moroni 7:41). Thanks to Him, we can change (Mosiah 5:2). We can have peace (John 14:27). Because of Him, we are.

This statue from the Relief Society Garden outside the Nauvoo Visitor Center displays the Words of the God--the scriptures.

This statue from the Relief Society Garden outside the Nauvoo Visitor Center displays the Words of God that guide missionaries–the scriptures.

The other day, I almost forgot my first name again. I’ve only known it for the past 19 years, but still I almost wrote “Hermana” on an official document. Haha, the perks of being on a mission. I don’t feel complete without my name tag. I love this work! Since I’ve been on my mission, I’ve realized that I need to turn outward, be less self-centered, focus all my thoughts and works and studies on others, and make everything I do in accordance to what Christ would do. Have you ever heard Elder Bednar’s talk “The Character of Christ”? It has motivated me to study Christ’s life in the New Testament and Jesus the Christ and see how He turned outward at all times, in all things, and in all places. Elder Neal A. Maxwell said (something along the lines of), “There would have been no Atonement without the Character of Christ.” It’s a powerful statement that can lead to many hours of deep meditation and pondering.

This last statue shows a sister entreating others to "Come unto Christ."

This statue shows a sister entreating others to “Come unto Christ.”

Teaching in the Spanish Language has really humbled me. I’ve learned that I don’t need to use eloquent words to teach the gospel. The Lord teaches in clarity, plainness, and simplicity. As I learn new words and use them, I hope I can learn how to express more of the feelings I receive in my heart from the Spirit.

Yes, Elizabeth will definitely get a new concept of the word “cold” when she goes up to BYU-Idaho. As for me with the upcoming winter weather, I still need to get gloves, a hat, and boots. (We’ll probably go shopping for them next week.) I’ll take pictures of the new clothes I bought after I finish this email and my weekly letter to my Mission President. I actually get one and a half hours to write emails, and I can read your emails earlier in the week, but I can’t respond until Mondays.

This statue in the  Garden displays the missionary's greatest source of inspiration and communication--prayer.

This statue in the Garden displays the missionary’s greatest source of inspiration and communication–prayer.

Thanks for the pictures [from the Relief Society Garden in Nauvoo that we saw while visiting Nauvoo in 2011–reminding us of three aspects of being a missionary]. I think I’ll be able to download them. I’ll see if I can take some pictures with my iPad today and send them to you. I can also take pictures with my iPad throughout the week, but I won’t be able to send them to you until the next Monday.

Stay strong, even in hard times. Pray sincerely. Believe fiercely. Study the scriptures and words of General Conference. Continually become converted to Christ. In Him is where we find true happiness.

Share your thoughts

