Travel to the Mexico City Mission Training Center (MTC)

At Airport, Aug 20, 2014

The family just before Kathleen leaves for the Mexico MTC.

Mom’s first e-mail to Kathleen while Kathleen was traveling to Mexico.

Dear Hermana Kathleen Billings,

I just wanted to send you this quick message to let you know how much we love you. We’ll be praying for you every day. I put the family picture at the airport on Facebook after returning home this morning, and there have been lots of comments of support for you.

Love you so much!

Mom

Girls at Airport, Aug 20, 2014

Kathleen and Elizabeth share a few moments together just before Kathleen heads through the airport security.

Hermana Kathleen Billings’ response in the early evening from the Mexico MTC:

Awhhh, gracias, mi mama. 🙂 I only have a few minutes to write. I made it to Mexico! I was actually scared a little bit, because I did not bring my travel packet with me, but they let me through with my passport and my flight itinerary. All of the people at the MTC are taking wonderful care of me here, so do not worry too much.

They want me to send you the following information:

Your Missionary’s mailing address is:
Hermana Billings
September 30, Branch 9 – District E
Carretera Tenayuca-Chalmita #828
Colonia Zona Escolar, Gustavo A. Madero
07230 Mexico, Distrito Federal
Mexico

The estimated departure date for your missionary is September 30. The use of the above address on all correspondence will greatly facilitate delivery to your missionary at the MTC. Please don’t send packages.

I am so glad my friends and family liked our family picture at the airport. 🙂

I have my name tag now! It feels AMAZING!

The schedule looks “crazy-packed,” but I am excited for the challenge and many opportunities each day will offer for me to learn Spanish and how to share the Gospel in that language. The tight timetable reminds me of my calendar up at BYU-Idaho.

By the way, my P-day [preparation day] is on Wednesdays, so I will write you again in a week.

Over the next six weeks, Hermana Billings might share some of the following pictures.

MTC Picture List

Picture #1 is complete: “Goodbye Family.”

 

Share your thoughts

