Take No Thought for the Morrow

Recently I had worried about which skirts and shirts I should take on my mission and the food I can eat while there (since I am dairy intolerant). Yesterday while reading the Book of Mormon, I read 3 Nephi 13 and came across these verses:

25 And now it came to pass that when Jesus had spoken these words he looked upon the twelve whom he had chosen, and said unto them: Remember the words which I have spoken.  For behold, ye are they whom I have chosen to minister unto this people. Therefore I say unto you, take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink; nor yet for your body, what ye shall put on. Is not the life more than meat, and the body than raiment?

26 Behold the fowls of the air, for they sow not, neither do they reap nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feedeth them. Are ye not much better than they?

28 And why take ye thought for raiment? Consider the lilies of the field how they grow; they toil not, neither do they spin;

30 Wherefore, if God so clothe the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is cast into the oven, even so will he clothe you, if ye are not of little faith.

31 Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed?

32 For your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things.

33 But seek ye first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things shall be added unto you.

34 Take therefore no thought for the morrow, for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. 

These things that I’ve been worrying about are temporal things. The Lord knows of my concerns with dairy, and if I put my trust in Him, I know He can help me accomplish all that He needs me to do. My grandmother was allergic to the heat and sun, and she was called to serve a mission with her husband in the Puerto Rico. She received a priesthood blessing to help her while she was serving the people there, and through the help of the Lord, she was able to manage it and complete her mission without much trouble. Likewise, I’ll be receiving a priesthood blessing on Monday. I know the Lord can help me manage my dairy intolerance while I’m on my mission. In addition, other sister missionaries have told me that I’ll probably end up giving away some of my clothes on my mission anyways, so I shouldn’t stress over that too much. I am not serving a mission to be a fashion model. I am serving a mission to help others come unto Christ. My mission is more than the clothes I wear and the food I eat – it is about the people I will serve, the message I will share, and the testimony of Christ’s Restored Gospel I will bear. I need to put my worries on the altar and put my trust in God. He called me, and He can help me overcome any challenges I may face.

Share your thoughts

