The Lord Qualifies Those He Calls + Temples

This past Tuesday and Wednesday I went to the temple. Tuesday night I did an endowment session with one of my former YW leaders, and while in the celestial room, I realized that in exactly one week from that exact moment, I will be set apart as a full-time missionary. I fell apart. With tears streaming down my cheeks, I poured my heart out to the Lord, seeking, asking, and yearning. I felt inadequate for the work. I’m not perfect and I make mistakes all the time. However, as I poured out my feelings to the Lord, I was wrapped in a feeling of warmth, peace, and comfort. These words came into my mind: “And I do this for a wise purpose ; for thus it whispereth me, according to the workings of the Spirit of the Lord which is in me. And now, I do not know all things; but the Lord knoweth all things which are to come; wherefore, he worketh in me to do according to his will” (Words of Mormon 1:7). The Lord qualifies those He calls. He doesn’t ask me to know everything about the gospel — He askes me to consecrate myself to the Work, and He will use me to reach out and share the Gospel with those He has prepared. “Treasure up in your minds continually the words of life, and it shall be given you in the very hour that portion that shall be meted unto every man” (D&C 84:85). The Lord knows His children, and the Spirit can lead me and my companion in the way we can help our investigators come unto Christ.

On Wednesday, I went to the temple and participated in my first sealings, and afterwards I was pondering the blessings and covenants associated with it. Walking down the aisle cannot compare with the happiness and joy of being sealed in the temple to your true love for time and all eternity.  The temple truly is the House of the Lord, and I know Christ walks the halls of His temples. I am so grateful for the temple and the time I’ve spent serving in the house of the Lord. I want to become an ordinance worker when I return from my mission. Ever since I received my endowment, I have felt closer to the spirit. I learn more about the Atonement, the Plan, and my eternal identity and purpose, and I want everyone to feel the joy I feel when in the temple. Being a missionary is more than helping people be baptized — the ultimate goal is to help them reach the temple. Baptism is only the first step, the beginning of a life dedicated to being a disciple of Christ, to stand as a witness of Him (Mosiah 18:9).

Share your thoughts

