Línea sobre Línea

My Spanish is starting to come along. I’m recognizing more words here and there. I’m so glad I followed my mom’s advice and took those Spanish classes in high school. It has given me a foundation whereon I can build. The language is slowly coming back to me. While I wait in the chapel before an endowment session, I pull out a Spanish and English Book of Mormon and read El Libro de Mormon en Español with the Book of Mormon opened in English that I can refer to as I read. Whenever I do this, I recognize what I’m reading. I know that my background in the Book of Mormon helps. And after I read a chapter en Español, I just want to continue talking and listening and reading in Spanish. However, it will literally be a “gift of tongues” when I can roll my “rr.”

I know the mission will challenge me, but that is one reason I’m excited to go. I just hope I can be the kind of missionary He knows I can be. My parents just told me that when my family speaks at my farewell, they are only going to give 1-2 minute talks and leave 30 minutes for me to speak. Gosh, I don’t know how I can speak for that long.

Finals are this week – I can’t believe how fast this semester has gone by. My life is going to be so crazy with finishing assignments, packing, cleaning, saying goodbye to friends, and flying home. And the next 4 weeks after that won’t be calm either. I guess it’ll just prepare me further for the busy life of missionary work.

I know that Christ lives. I know He is my Savior and Redeemer. I know that He was born of the virgin Mary, that He gave the perfect example and showed the way, He bore our sins in Gethsemane, died on Calvary, broke the bands of death, arose from the dead, initiated missionary work in the Spirit world, visited the Nephites, and appeared with His father to Joseph Smith, restoring His gospel and priesthood back upon the earth. I know He is the way, the truth, and the life.

Share your thoughts

