Connection between Charity and the Atonement

During my Winter semester at BYU-Idaho, I attended an early morning-side training for Student Living, and the speaker discussed a connection between the Atonement and Charity. We studied Ether 12:33-34 and Moroni 7:41, 45-48. In Ether 12, Moroni praises the Lord in prayer and rejoices in the Atonement, saying: “And again, I remember that thou hast said that thou hast loved the world, even unto the laying down of thy life for the world, that thou mightest take it again to prepare a place for the children of men. And now I know that this love which thou hast had for the children of men is charity.” The speaker discussed how the Atonement is a pure example and expression of charity. Then we turned to Moroni 7, and he had us replace the word charity with the Atonement. As we read it with these changes, a whole new understanding of charity and the Atonement came to me:

45 And [the Atonement] suffereth long, and is kind, and envieth not, and is not puffed up, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil, and rejoiceth not in iniquity but rejoiceth in the truth, beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things.

46 Wherefore, my beloved brethren, if ye have not [the Atonement], ye are nothing, for [the Atonement] never faileth. Wherefore, cleave unto [the Atonement], which is the greatest of all, for all things must fail—

47 But [the Atonement] is the pure love of Christ, and [the Atonement] endureth forever; and whoso is found possessed of [the Atonement] at the last day, it shall be well with him.

48 Wherefore, my beloved brethren, pray unto the Father with all the energy of heart, that ye may be filled with this love [the Atonement], which he hath bestowed upon all who are true followers of his Son, Jesus Christ; that ye may become the sons of God; that when he shall appear we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is; that we may have this hope; that we may be purified even as he is pure. Amen.

I need to have the Atonement. I need to cleave to the Atonement. I need to possess the Atonement. I need to be filled with the Atonement. I need to make the Atonement a part of every fiber of my being, and as I do that, I will be filled with a love for others and have an increased desire to serve them. I will be kinder, not envy others but be filled with gratitude, think no evil thought, and rejoice in truth. The Atonement never fails. Christ has worked miracles in and through me as I’ve let Him into my life, and I know He can do the same for all of His children as they come unto Him with a broken heart and contrite spirit.

Today there was only me and the Mission Prep teacher for class today, so we took a walk up to the temple and just talked. He asked me why I decided to serve a mission and shared with me insights he received while serving a mission, encouraged me, and talked about how the reason we go on a mission is different than the reason we stay on the mission.

There are only two weeks left of the semester! Gosh this is going by so quickly. It will be hard to leave BYU-Idaho, a place I have grown to care for deeply. I am going to cry a lot, but I know the Lord can comfort me (Hymn 124 and 129).

Share your thoughts

