Strength Through the Scriptures

The semester is coming to an end so quickly. The fact that I report to the Mexico MTC in just 59 days actually just made me feel sick in my stomach with nervousness and excitement. I’m excited to go and I love sharing my testimony and bearing witness of Christ’s love and healing Atonement, but I’m uneasy at the same time, worrying that I will be enough and be able to accomplish all the Lord needs me to do. Maybe it’s just the adversary trying to make me feel less capable than I am. Perhaps it’s just nervousness about the unknown, having to walk out in the darkness in faith before the light comes on. Anyways, this week I’ll continue to focus on uplifting activities, like attending the temple, diligent scripture study, and fervent prayer, asking for the Lord to help guide me to recognize opportunities to share my testimony and serve others. He can help take these butterflies in my stomach and help me feel at peace. I can have the faith like Nephi as he followed the Spirit, not knowing beforehand the things he would have to do. I can be like Mary the mother of Jesus, as she submitted her will to the Lord and said, “Behold the handmaid of the Lord” (Luke 1:38). I can be like Esther who had the courage to do hard things. I can be like Hannah who held true to her covenants with the Lord. I can be like Ruth, strengthening others in her own time of distress. I can be like the Sons of Mosiah, who trusted the Lord with their lives and became great instruments in His hands. I can take strength from the words of Proverbs 3:5-6, “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.”

Share your thoughts

