The Power of God in Our Lives

Yesterday was my first day serving in the temple, and I loved it! It’s not a big job – I just collect the temple file and family file names after the work has been performed, but it helps the temple workers keep track and record the work quickly. I’m so grateful to serve in the temple in that small way. I also get to spend two hours in the temple with times I can just sit and ponder. Next week I’ll have a name badge to wear as I serve in the temple – I feel like it will prepare me (in a little way) for when I wear both my name and Christ’s name on my name tag as a full-time missionary.

I am so excited for that day when I get set apart as a missionary. I’m starting to see the power in praying and reading my scriptures with others in mind. Just today I did that for the girls I visit teach and the girls in Relief Society. The Relief Society Presidency called me a couple hours before church and asked if I could teach the lesson in Relief Society. Putting my trust in the Lord, I accepted the call, fell on my knees and prayed that He could lead me in my preparations, and got to work. As I prepared, I felt impressions on questions to ask and points to stress. I fell on my knees again right before my lesson and prayed for His companionship. I could really feel the spirit throughout the lesson, and it bore witness of the power of the priesthood in our lives.

I know the Priesthood has been restored to the earth. I know it is God’s power, and through faith in His Son, He can work miracles in our lives. I know that President Thomas S. Monson is God’s prophet on the earth today, and if we follow His counsel, we will be lead on the paths of truth and righteousness. God has not given the priesthood to women – He has given it to the men, but God has made women co-creators with Him. I learn more about my divine role in His Plan in the temple. Inside of me I hold the power to create life, one of God’s most precious powers and glories. I am a spirit daughter of Heavenly Parents, and I know that when I cross the veil and look into my Heavenly Mother’s eyes, all doubts of my divine nature will melt away and I will see the true light that illuminates from Her. That is my divine potential, and as I strive to be an instrument in His hands, I will be able to stand beside “[my] glorious Mother Eve, with many of her faithful daughters who have lived throughout the ages and worshiped the true and living God” (D&C 138:39).

Share your thoughts

